top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
velvetloveseveryth

Shinola and Then Some...

Updated: Mar 15, 2019

Sorry for the wait on this review but things have been non-stop and I wanted to make sure I gave you all the full deets not only on San Morello but the Shinola Hotel as well.


So I went to check them out last Friday, and with any first time experinece you have your hopes so high and I must say I was not disappointed! The decor is what you would expect from Shinola cool, urban and sophisticated yet it doesn’t feel stuffy. The music was not what I expected anything from Big Sean, Drake to Goodie Mob was playing. I was so impressed! We went in kinda late with no reservation but we were able to get a nice little table soon as we walked in.


Let’s get right into the food and drinks. To start we ordered from what would be the appetizer menu titled Southern Italian Dips, let me say I was so against this dip because I do not like sweet and salty stuff but ooohhhh I was soooo wrong! We ordered as described on the menu Sheep’s Milk Ricotta with Hot Honey & Garlic served with warm garlic bread (pane siciliano). I truly can’t express how good this dish was! If you go it’s a must to order this!


For drinks I had a glass of Prosecco and my friend had the beautiful drink featured below, Frutteto. As described on the menu Buffalo Trace Bourbon, Apple Cider Syrup, Lemon, Chanti Float. I did not taste this as I was still stuffing bread and cheese in my mouth. LMAO! But my friend ordered 2 so it must be good. If you try it email me and let me know how it was.


For dinner my friend ordered one of the wood-fire pizza’s, as described on the menu Blue Crab, Tomato, Garlic Crema and Jalapeno. Very good and light! The jalapeño’s are fresh so beware of that.


Me on the the other hand (so greedy) I ordered as described on the menu Braised Lamb Shank “Osso Buco” Caprino Polenta. So anytime something is braised I’m probably going to order it (LOL). This dish gives you a warm stew feel but on another level because it’s lamb! This will forever be my favorite lamb dish now thanks to San Morello! The polenta was creamy and rich just perfect! I highly recommend!


If you go for dinner or drinks take some time to walk around the hotel living room and upper living room area! I just can’t say enough how cool this place is. The art, the tucked away sitting areas to the staff are so welcoming and accommodating! I love that we have this in dowtown Detroit and it’s accessible to everyone!


So go check them out, tell them V sent you!!


Love you and Everything -Velvet






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page