top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
velvetloveseveryth

Not Your Average Mexican Restaurant….

Updated: Aug 14, 2019

About a year ago a really good friend of mine said let’s go on a friend date I said ummm ok girl LOL…. She said I’m taking you to my favorite restaurant El Asador located on 1312 Springwells St. in Southwest Detroit, reservations are at 8:30 bring 2 bottles of wine. I said wait, what we can bring our own wine she said yes… As if I wasn’t already like where is this girl taking me I pull up to this little building sitting on the corner with a little metal screen door and a huge yet beautiful mural on the side of the building.


I park in a very small lot, walk in and this place is packed!! So, let me get right into the food which I can’t explain enough is not your typical Mexican Food this is Mexican Cuisine.


For starters we had freshly made guacamole table side so good and made to whatever spice level you want it. (Spicy for me please)


For Dinner I had as described on the menu Alambres, Mexican style kabobs grilled and served over rice with a side of borracho bean stew. You can order Chicken, Steak or Shrimp. Listen I promise this is not your run of the mill kabobs!! I have been going to this place for a year and I can’t stop ordering this same dish even if I order something else I take a order home. My entrée came with soup or salad I went with a salad with the house made garlic dressing, I could have just drank the dressing by itself (yea it’s that good, don’t judge me)


My friend had the Ribeye Steak con Rajas as described on the menu Char grilled 10oz. Ribeye Steak topped with Poblano Pepper green sauce. The sauce is rich but not too thick flavorful not spicy at all.


Everyday there is a different veggie I’ve had them all at this point grilled zucchini, broccoli and green beans in a red tomato sauce (my personal fav)


The soups are amazing as well Tortilla and Poblano are my 2 fav’s!


You can bring your own wine and beer..


Go check them out and tell them V sent you!!


Love You and Everything -Velvet

Mural by artist Victor Quinonez




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page