top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
velvetloveseveryth

Maru...Love at 1st bite...

This past Friday I had the pleasure of dining at Maru, located at 160 Fort St. right in the heart of downtown Detroit. Maru was everything I was expecting and more! From the decor which has a modern clean line feel, to the food and the amazing service this has won me over as one the best new places I’ve experienced.


To start we ordered drinks (duh) as always I went with wine a Rose and my friend had the usual double Maker’s Mark.


After going over the menu which is large so many rolls, appetizers and dishes to choose from we decide to go with the crouching tiger roll and at the suggestion of our wonderful bartender Amber ( I will tell you about her in a few) we also ordered the papa crema roll, we also ordered fried rice one with bacon (his) and one with chicken (mine) the fried rice is served with a sunny side up egg but you can have it scrambled if you want (I did). The fried rice had a sweetness to it that usually I don’t like but they did it just right!


While we were ordering I attempted to order the Crabby Mushrooms (at the suggusstions of my foodie cousin) but I was like nahhh we have so much food coming already. Well what did we see coming out? Our already amazing bartender Amber ordered them for us and said they were on her! She said we had to try them they were one of the best appetizers and YES, YES they were!!! As described on the menu Crabby Mushrooms, panko fried fresh shiitake mushrooms stuffed with crab salad, cream cheese, scallion and served with teriyaki. OMG hunni if you go YOU MUST ORDER THIS DISH!!


The crouching tiger roll as described on the menu panko fried shrimp, cream cheese, crab salad, topped with shrimp, avocado, fantasy sauce, eel sauce, honey wasabi aioli, masago and scallion. I know what you are thinking WHOA CHILE that’s a lot but it all works perfectly together! Defiently recommend this roll!


The papa crema as described on the menu smoked salmon, crab salad, avocado, cream cheese, tempura fried, served with deep fried sweet potato and garlic eel sauce. This roll was excellent as well, I didn’t like the deep fried sweet potatoes (they are served on the side thank goodness) and the garlic eel sauce was too salty but it’s on the side as well. So subtract those items and you are good to go!


As we were wrapping up (as this was my cheat day) I noticed cheesecake on the menu, so naturally I had to order some to go. As described on the menu creamy cheesecake with Madagascar vanilla, an oat crust, lavendar blueberry jam and short bread crumble (gluten-free) I like my cheesecake plain so I subtracted the sauce as that comes on top but I did taste it and yea I poured it all over it LOL!!! I can’t sugguest Maru enough for any day of the week or occasion.


I loved all the food and I know that’s the highlight but I have to say the service was a highlight for me too! Amber and Micheal could not have been better! I truly would go back if I didn’t like the food just to kick it with both of them! Great conversation and attention to detail!


So, if you haven’t been yet go check out Maru. Tell them V sent you!!


Love you you and Everything -Velvet


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page