top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
velvetloveseveryth

Empire State of mind in Mid-Town Detroit....

Updated: Feb 10, 2019

As always I was doing some research on happy hour places in Downtown Detroit and I ran across Empire, located at 3148 Woodward Ave, it‘s right in the heart of midtown and 5 mins from my office so this was a perfect spot to check out. The decor and vibe was really cool, gives you a Art Deco/Retro feel. Classy yet laid back.


I went in on a Wednesday because all bottles of wine are 50% off, and of course a bottle is better than a glass LOL!!! I was with a group of friends which is always great because we all ordered different things (suggestion 1, also you can eat a lot without judgement of ordering 5 different meals LMAO)


To start I ordered a bottle of the Kung Fu Girl Resiling. I’ve had this before so I was familar with it. Semi- Sweet and not dry, this is a perfect Resiling (to me).


From the happy hour menu we ordered the Wings and from the appetizers we ordered the Smoked Whitefish Dip. The wings as described on the menu crispy dry rub with buttermilk ranch, they were good not anything special but good. Sorry I wanted to give you this amazing description but they really were normal wings. The Smoked Whitefish dip served with baguette slices was great!!! Not fishy tasting (if that makes sense) and it came with pickled red onions and pickles, the pickles did not compliment it (to me) but I wouldn’t say don’t try them.


I was starving so I ordered a entree as well, I went with The Scallops, as described on the menu Seared Scallops, Fingerling Potatoes, Fennel, Leek, Swiss Chard and Bacon. I asked to minus the leeks because I learned years ago I do not like leeks. The Scallops were prepared perfectly!!! I say this with all due respect to whoever created the menu this dish could stand to be relaxed in ingredients.... It was too much!! The bacon made things taste salty, the fingerling potatoes were burned, the swiss chard was too bitter. I would have enjoyed this more if it was simpler.


So my experience at Empire was mixed I wasn’t overly impressed with the food but I did like the vibe and our waiter Colin was so cool. Would I go back, yes for drinks only. But I still want you to go I believe in having a personal experience somewhere before saying I wouldn’t go.


So, Go check them out and tell them V sent you!!!


Love You and Everything. -Velvet







21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page